Seaford is the oldest golf club in Sussex having been founded in 1887, which at that time was one of probably no more than forty clubs south of the Scottish border.
The original course was laid out on land at Seaford Head, but as membership grew it was decided that a larger and better location was needed to take the club forward and so Seaford Golf Club moved to its present, Blatchington site in 1907.
The five time Open winner, Ryder Cup captain and legendary course architect J. H. Taylor was commissioned to design and build a challenging new course of natural character. Taylor's original layout was 5,814 yards with a bogey of 81.
Today the course measures 6,546 yards off the back tees with a par of 69 and a SSS of 71. Two additional holes have been added in recent times, namely 17a and 18a which allow members to play shortened but still competitive rounds of either eight (1-6 + 17a & 18a) or eleven (1-9 + 17a & 18a) holes without disrupting players coming off the 16th.
The club's archives include 'Seaford Golf Club, A History', a book written to celebrate the club's centenary. It gives a full and fascinating insight into the first hundred years of golf at Seaford and is available to peruse.
SEAFORD GOLF CLUB 111 Firle Road, Seaford East Sussex BN25 2JD